Dragon’s First Flight

This is the first relatively successful track I’ve managed to create with the new motion tracking features in Blender 2.62. I wasn’t really concentrating on the animation too much, I just gave the little dragon guy a bit of life to see how well he would sit among some live footage. I’m still trying to get the hang of it, I haven’t done much 3d motion tracking in the past (plenty of 2d though). This footage I just shot on my iPhone at my desk, so the compression and motion blur on clip isn’t overly conducive to tracking but with a bit of fiddling and tweaking by hand I eventually got a decent timeline. I had downloaded various clips from the internet, if you do a search for ‘free tracking clips’ you’ll find a few places to download them from, but I was having trying to find sensor sizes and focal length for these particular clips. I then decided to shoot some footage with my phone since I already knew these details and finally got this result. It’s far from perfect but it’s a good start with a Blender feature which I can see fast becoming a powerful tool in my arsenal of vfx tools.

About Alan Henry Perry
Art for heart's sake...

3 Responses to Dragon’s First Flight

  1. Craig Smith says:

    Alan, that was class! … Would love to see more of that.

  2. Jason says:

    What focal length and lens width did you use? I’ve tried many of the socalled measurements for the i4 and get very inaccurate results even with a .2 solve.

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 233 other followers