Embrace the Shadow – Part 1

I’ve been doing a lot of other stuff recently, and decided last week that I needed to have a bit of a doodle for myself to loosen up a bit. But, what to do.. what to do!

Well, one way I’ve found if you’re not sure what you want to do, you don’t want to get into anything too long-term or intense, and you like having a go at character design, is to have a go at silhouette doodling. It’s a great way to take the pressure off and relax if you have a bit of artists block too, and it can’t hurt having a bit more character work in your portfolio.

I’m constantly trying to stay off the computer as much as I can, since I spend all day looking at one in work. So I got myself a Sharpie, and to take the roundness off the tip and give a bit of a chisel edge, I sliced the tip off with a scalpel. It wasn’t the cleanest of cuts, but that was a good thing since it made me think differently about what way to hold it to get the shapes I needed. Then I grabbed my sketch pad and started doodling and didn’t stop til I had these 12 little beauties to work with. You can, of course, do this process digitally if you prefer. More on this tomorrow…

Click to enlarge

Part Two – Lighting the Shadows

Part Three – Colouring the Light

About Alan Henry Perry
Art for heart's sake...

4 Responses to Embrace the Shadow – Part 1

  1. Craig Smith says:

    Those look class Alan!

  2. Craig Smith says:

    I could see these as game characters Alan!? … I’m working on my second iPhone game … going to be a simple little ‘runner’ type game, with character sprites created in Cinema 4D 🙂

  3. these are fantastic! so much personality and body language x

    • Starfox says:

      Cheers mate, thought a bit of character design wouldn’t go amiss, never know where it might lead! Gonna take a few of them and work them up to full character sheets, there’s a couple of them I really like. You gonna have a go? xox 🙂

Leave a Reply

