Merv the Head – WIP 1

I saw a crusty teenager and his girlfriend walking across the street a few weeks ago. He was tall, pale and lanky, and was plodding along wearing a very large, wooly rasta hat, with long dreads hanging down his back, and she was quite short. The image kind of stuck in my head and I finally got around to getting it down on paper this week.

Then he developed into this..

Thought he looked a bit like a hippy surfer dood type, I think there was a bit of Tony Harrison inspiration in there. I’m working this up in grayscale first, then colouring it afterwards. I haven’t managed to get a painting done successfully this way yet, but I’ve been practicing on bits and pieces using this method, so hopefully I can pull it off. Here’s where I am so far.

About Alan Henry Perry
Art for heart's sake...

Leave a Reply

