Final Initiation of the Baku-Rider WIP 2

Well, now that Christmas is over, we can all settle down and get some painting done again. Here’s a little more of the Baku-Rider pic. I’ve missed the deadline for the IFX cover comp, but I’m not too bothered, I didn’t want to rush this because I’m quite happy about how it’s turning out. It’s taking me a lot of time to work on the dragon skin, and I’m not 100% sure about how well it’s turning out, but again it’s a learning experience.

I’ve been building it up in stages and layers of colouring and brushstrokes, to get plenty of texture in there and to stop it looking flat. Hopefully its working so far.

The other thing which was bothering me was the tail, I felt it was confusing the composition with the loop at the end so I’ve changed it, and I think the eye follows the image better now.

I’ve also put some more cooler shadow into the ground below which I think has helped the whole scene. I still need to work on those wings yet though. really want to get this finished soon, so I can move onto the many other sketches and half finished pics on my harddrive.

Here’s the full image so far:

Now for the wings!

About Alan Henry Perry
Art for heart's sake...

Leave a Reply

