Cameron Diaz Caricature Pt1

For my next image I thought I’d have a go at doing another caricature, inspired by Em’s post over on ImagineFX. I’m going to work on it here since it’s easier to keep it all together, and I have a habit of starting these things then not getting back to them for a week or so, I’m not sure how well it’ll turn out, but let’s see how it goes. The only real caricatures that I’ve done so far has been this:

Alex and Gene-Ashes smallAlex Drake and Gene Hunt from Ashes to Ashes (in case you needed some help) I’m quite happy with them, but I really only used one pic of each of them for reference. So I wanted to try it a way which should hopefully make for a more flexible final image, which is what Em’s suggestions are. It really is worthwhile checking that thread out.

So to start with I’ve gathered a lot of different reference pics from the net to work with, of Miss Diaz in various states of style, even a bald one…diaz montage

and so far I’ve made a list of all the features that I think are important for a final caricature. I may have gone too far with this, but better it being in the description than not, I’m guessing. This is what I got from those pics.

Blue-grey eyes; Soft skin; Bump on nose in profile, quite bulbous and defined point; Very round, defined cheekbones with bottom line towards corner of mouth; Wide space between eyebrows; Squashed face, lots of forehead; small eyes; very dimply when smiling wide, smile right out to edge of eyes, teeth together, top teeth only showing; Square face with rounded chin, sharp jaw from front; Sticky out ears; Smooth shallow curve on cheeks up to eyes; Level eyes with inner corner pointing towards chin; Average sized lips, small space between nose and upper lip,

So thats it so far, the next is preliminary sketches at low res with the reference, just to get a feel for the face. This is the first one before bedtime, not sure it looks anything like her at all. But it is the first one.diaz sketch1

About Alan Henry Perry
Art for heart's sake...

Leave a Reply

